The Church & Google

I am reading the book by Jeff Jarvis, “What Would Google Do?”, although it’s not a religious book, there is much that Jarvis writes about that we in the church can learn from.  I think there are so many points that Jarvis brings up that is applicable to the church.  I hope to uncover more and more gems as I read on.  I’ve just begun, but this book is pretty cool.  I love the Dell Hell story.  I had a Dell, and I wanted to throw it out the window.  That is why I am mac user now.  I feel you Jeff.

Jeff writes that Yahoo, and AOL are former king of the online hill, and they operate under old rules.  It’s companies like Google that brings new rules, new platforms, and network that changes everything.  The first thought that came to my mind was Yahoo, AOL equals United Methodist Church, Presbyterian Church, or any other mainline denominational church.  They are dinosaurs that claim new tag lines, or mission statements for the 21st Century, but operate by the same old rules that makes the church no longer relevant.  There are new ministries and churches out there making new rules, and sets to reach people where they are, and goes out to people where they are not just say they do.

I’m not saying that Google, Jeff Jarvis , or this book has all the answers to life and the church, but there is good stuff here to really help leaders in the church to think differently about Faith, the local church, and the Kingdom of God in our culture today.

To Jeff Jarvis,  love the book so far.  Peace!!

2 Responses to “The Church & Google”

  1. Minho, love the blog bro. Looking forward to following you on it. My blog is himikepark.wordpress.com.

Leave a comment